Tuesday, May 13

Max Effort Squat

My main movement for today was Anderson squats. I was supposed to use chains up to a one rep max, but I only have about 50 pounds of chains. Instead I used short Average bands from EliteFTS and kept adding weight. This was only the second time I had ever done Anderson squats. The first time was worse than embarrassing. I maxed out at 335. I just couldn’t figure out how to get set up at the bottom of the squat. I could easily set up at the top and come down, rest the bar on the pins, then squat back up, but starting off at the bottom was just killing me. I guess I got better because I worked up to 425 + bands for this session. Better, though not great. Even so, I was exhausted by the time I finished.

The accessory work was sumo stiff-legged deads, low back extensions, and abs. I’ll admit that I half-assed the abs. I was just beat by the time I was finished. By the end of the day my entire body was sore. Seriously, I’ve never been so sore from any kind of squat. I take that to mean I’m doing something right.

Leave a Reply

