Monday, May 19

Dynamic Effort Bench

Today’s big movement was speedy bench with light bands. Jesse had programmed 40% + bands. Somehow, even while I had it written right in front of me, I read 60%. I’m using 405 as my base number, so I did 245 + light bands doubled for three reps for ten sets. I’ve had a cold for several days, and I’m exhausted, so I wasn’t hoping for much. I ended up killing it. 245 flew up, even with the bands which added about 50-60 pounds at the top. I know this because I used 55 lb dumbbells at first, and they picked up on my warmup set, so I had to go to 100s. After my less-than-dynamic dynamic squat day on Saturday, I was glad to finally have something go right.

One thing I changed today was my setup. USAPL requires that your heel stays on the ground during the lift. I’ve been on my toes so my feet could get underneath my hips. I was able to get decent leg drive like that without pushing my hips off the bench. Changing my setup was kinda tough. The result, though, was that I was even tighter than usual. My hips and lower back started cramping, and right now they have a steady dull ache going on. Still, I found a good position, and I might even be getting more leg drive than I was before.

The rest of the workout was fine, though I just felt crazy tired when it was all over. I had a headache, and I was light-headed. At the end I was doing hammer curls with these dumbbells that have a chrome cap. My head started feeling really weird, and I got this floaty feeling, and I realized the shine from the lights on the cap was messing with me. That was weird. I got worried I was going to pass out at one point and had to sit down. I moved to a different set of dumbbells, and it was better, but my head has been hurting ever since, and when I got hit by the sunlight reflecting off water later on, I got the same feeling. I don’t know what that’s all about. I’m chalking it up to being so tired from being sick for the last several days.

Basically, I feel like crap, but everything went better than I expected, and that’s all that matters. With any luck a good night’s sleep will clear up what’s left of this sickness. Or not. As long I keep lifting like today, I’m cool with feeling like shit.

One comment

Leave a Reply

