Monday, May 26

Dynamic Effort Bench

bar biteToday’s main movement was push press. It was 60% for 15 sets of 3. That put me at 155, which was pretty easy. Everything flew up with lots of force. In fact, it came up a little too fast. On set 14 I slammed the bar into my chin. Hard. Really hard. Rattled my teeth. That was on rep two. I finished my last rep, racked the bar, and stretched out my jaw. My entire head hurt, but there was nothing to do about it but keep going, so I did.

Once I finished the push presses I did 200 reps of rows and 100 reps of shrugs. I was supposed to do hammer curls (have I mentioned that Jesse loves hammer curls?), but the gym was closing early today, so I had to get out of there.

In other news, I got my SBD knee sleeves in, but I think I’m going to send them back for a smaller size. I got the XXLs, and they fit snugly, but I think I could squeeze on a size down, and I want to get the most benefit out of them. Really, I’m not sure. I’d like to try a pair of XLs on, but I don’t know anyone who owns a pair. I’m still undecided. I need to figure it out quick, though, because I want to make sure everything is in well before the meet on July 12.

Leave a Reply

